Cranbourne, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cranbourne, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Cranbourne

Guide to Cranbourne, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cranbourne, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cookham; Ripplesmere
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Easthampstead; Windsor
Registration District Easthampstead; Windsor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cranbourne is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1851 from Winkfield Ancient Parish, Sunninghill Ancient Parish and Old Windsor Ancient Parish; Exact boundary unknown.

CRANBOURNE-ST. PETER, a chapelry in Winkfield, Old Windsor, and Sunninghill parishes (each of which also see), Berks; adjacent to Windsor Park, 2½ miles N by W of Sunning Hill, and 4½ SW by S of Windsor. It was constituted in 1851.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chapelry ('parish') registers likely exist for this chapel commencing from 1845, at the Berkshire Record Office.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241204.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cranbourne in GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 January 2016, at 05:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,724 times.