Cranham, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cranham, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Cranham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cranham, Essex
All Saints Church, Cranham Essex.jpg
All Saints Church, Cranham Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chafford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Romford PLU
Registration District Romford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chafford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cranham, is a parish in Romford district, Essex; it is 3 1/2 miles NE of Rainham railway station, and 4 1/4 miles SE by E of Romford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Cranham, Essex Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1559
1559
1558
Images 1559-1987 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1558-1938 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1559-1836 findmypast[3] 1558-1938 findmypast[4]
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241363.


Poor Law Unions

Romford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cranham on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Cranham on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (London and Edinburgh, 1870). Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 16 April 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 April 2015, at 19:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,178 times.