Crawford, Lanarkshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Lanarkshire Gotoarrow.png Crawford

Crawford (Including Leadhills) (#635)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Crawford. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

CRAWFORD, a parish, in the Upper ward of the county of Lanark; including the village of Leadhills, 3 miles (S. E.) from Abington. This place has claims to a considerable degree of antiquity. The church, an ancient structure in good repair, is conveniently situated, and affords accommodation to about 300 persons. There is a chapel in connexion with the Established Church at Leadhills.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Crawford.  Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Crawford.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

Years Surname Index         
1841
1851 941.43/C5 X2m 1851
1861 6205846
1871
1881 6086616 ( 41 fiche)
1891

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here is a list of records that exist with their Family History Library call number.

Established Church—Old Parochial Records

Events Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1741-1854 - Crawford 1066586 items 1-2
1698-1854 - Leadhills 1066586 items 1-2
Marriages: No entries
Deaths: No entries

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index. 
Births: Crawford: The original record begins December 1741, but there is a copy of the portion prior to 1776, which contains entries from November 1739. The original is wanting July 1764–January 1778. In the copy after August 1776 are two pages of irregular entries 1771–1820 and entries are frequently out of the order of time.
Leadhills: Entries are tabulated for November 1748–February 1758.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1751–1845
Cash Book 1751–1865
Leadhills Cash Book 1742–1866
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/522.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

There are no pre–1855 churches or records.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Crawford was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Lanark until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Glasgow.  Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Lanark.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Lanark.  Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 218-233. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 February 2014.

Return to the Lanarkshire parish list.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:46.
  • This page has been accessed 3,438 times.