Creeting St Mary with Creeting All Saints and St Olave, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Creeting St Mary with Creeting All Saints and St Olave, Suffolk|
|Hundred||Bosmere and Claydon|
|Poor Law Union||Bosmere and Claydon|
|Parish registers: 1681; Separate registers exist for Creeting All Saints with St Olave beginning 1704|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1565; Separate records exist for Creeting All Saints with St Olave beginning 1563|
|Rural Deanery||Bosmere; Stow|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
CREETING (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Bosmere and Claydon, E. division of Suffolk, 1½ mile (N. N. E.) from Needham-Market. Note: there are four parishes in Suffolk by this same name: CREETING (St. Mary), CREETING (All Saints), CREETING (St. Olave), and CREETING (St. Peter), or West Creeting. The first three are contiguous and are discussed here.
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Creeting All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Creeting All Saints Parish Online Records|
Creeting St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Creeting St Mary Parish Online Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474636.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 720-725. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 March 2014.
- ↑ 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 30 December 2015.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 04:41.
- This page has been accessed 3,002 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News