Cregneash, Isle of ManEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Isle of ManGotoarrow.pngCregneash

A guide to genealogy in Cregneash, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cregneash (Manx: Creneash) is a traditional Manx village situated in the civil and ecclesiastical parish of Rushen, on the south coast of the island.

Contents

History

The village was designated as the Cregneash Folk Village in 1938, a Living Museum, dedicated to the preservation of the traditional Manx way of life, and is administered by Manx National Heritage. Most of the buildings in the village can be visited and show the lifestyle of a typical small Manx-speaking village in the 19th century.

Many of the original Manx cottages have been preserved and display Victorian farming and fishing equipment as museum exhibits. Harry Kelly's cottage in the centre of the village typifying a Manx fisherman's home, as is that of Ned Faragher, a famous Manx language poet and hymn writer. is carried on today. Museum staff wear traditional Manx dress and demonstrate weaving, knitting and quilt making. The joiners' shop and smithy also provide demonstrations of traditional crafts.

The farm is home to a flock of the rare four-horned Loaghtan sheep and chickens roam freely around the farmyard and barn.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

St. Peter's church in the village was built in 1878 by the people of the area. It was also used as the village school. It is within the ecclesiastical parish of Rushen.

Census Records

Poor Law Union Records

Gallery

Cregneash Village
Manx Loghtan sheep
Harry Kelly's cottage.  
Edward Faragher's cottage.  
The kitchen fireplace in a cottage.  
The kitchen dresser in a cottage.  
St. Peter's church in the centre of the village.  
Manx Loghtan four-horned sheep.  

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 996 times.