Cressing, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cressing, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Cressind, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cressing, Essex
All Saints, Cressing, Essex .jpg
All Saints, Cressing, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Witham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Braintree PLU
Registration District Braintree
Records begin
Parish registers: 1733
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cressing, is a parish in Braintree district, Essex; it is adjacent to the river Brain and the Braintree railway, it is 3 1/2 miles SE of Braintree. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cressing, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Cressing, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1733-1782


ESSEX
1733-1955
1733-1935
1733-1971
NBI



1813-1971
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Cressing on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (London and Edinburgh, 1870). Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 14:49.
  • This page has been accessed 3,239 times.