Crich, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Crich, Derbyshire
St Mary's Church, Crich Derbyshire.jpg
St Mary's Church, Crich Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch; Scarsdale; Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Bakewell; Belper; Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CRICH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Belper, partly in the hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, partly in that of Scarsdale, and partly in that of Wirksworth, N. and S. divisions of the county of Derby with the township of Wessington and the hamlet of Tansley. A church has been built in the hamlet of Tansley; and there are places of worship for Wesleyans, Independents, and Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Crich parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Crich Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1601-1899
  NONE
1600-1912
  NONE
1600-1912
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Derbyshire Record Office reference 2365 has deposited registers Bap 1565- 1593, 1601-1954 Mar 1565-1593, 1600-1660, 1671-1971 Burials 1565-1593, 1600- 1642, 1671-1991 Banns 1643, 1754-1807, 1823-1853, 1882-1986


Non-Conformist Churches

Crich Baptist Church Derbyshire.jpg

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 725-729.Date accessed: 03 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 952 times.