Croatia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Croatia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|News and Events|
Getting started with Croatia research
Welcome to the Croatia Page!
FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Croatia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Croatian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Croatia Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!
- Beginner's Guide to Croatian Research by Thomas K. Edlund with Kahlile B. Mehr
- Beginner's Guide to Croatian Research/Croatian Microfilming List by Thomas K. Edlund with Kahlile B. Mehr
- ARHiNET Croatia Central National Register of Archival Fonds and Collections of the Republic of Croatia. Includes vital registers. Click here for instructions.
- Croatia, Church Books, 1516-1949
- Croatia, Delnice Roman Catholic Church Books (Family Search Historical Records) Presently being indexed.
The lands that today comprise Croatia were part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until the close of World War I. In 1918, the Croats, Serbs, and Slovenes formed a kingdom known after 1929 as Yugoslavia. In 1991 Croatia declared its independence from Yugoslavia.
Croatia is a country situated in Southeastern Europe, bordering Slovenia, Hungary, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, the Adriatic Sea, and the Gulf of Trieste.
Did you know?
Slavonia is a geographical and historical region in eastern Croatia. It is a lowland bounded, in part, by the Drava river in the north, the Sava river in the south, and the Danube river in the east.
Dalmatia is a historical region on the eastern coast of the Adriatic Sea and is situated in Croatia. It spreads between the island of Rab in the northwest and the Bay of Kotor, in Montenegro, in the southeast. The hinterland, the Dalmatian Zagora, ranges from fifty kilometers in width in the north to just a few kilometers in the south.
Istriais the largest peninsula in the Adriatic Sea, located at the head of the Adriatic between the Gulf of Trieste and the Bay of Kvarner. It is shared by three countries: Croatia, Slovenia and Italy.
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:50.
- This page has been accessed 108,587 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News