Croatia Church RecordsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Back to Croatia Page►
- Roman Catholic parishes kept registers earlier than Orthodox parishes which were required to keep them only after 1777. Croats are almost exclusively Roman Catholic and Serbs are Orthodox.
- Civil transcripts of registers were mandated during the 19th century.
- A tabular format was adopted after 1848.
- Older parish registers have been and continue to be transferred to the district historical archives or the Croatia State Archive.
- The language of the records is either Latin, Croatian, Hungarian, or Italian. Glagolitic and Cyrillic as well as Roman script occur in the records.
- Various church books from the Croatian State Archives
- Orthodox church records of the Blaski eparchy (Blaski is not a geographic place, but the name of a patriarch. The eparchy covered all of the Orthodox parishes in Dalmatia)
- Documents from district church archives throughout Croatia
- Church records from the Osijek State Archives
- Material from the Varaždin State Archives
- Catholic church books from the Zadar and Split State Archives
- Orthodox church books from the Zadar and Split State Archives
- Church books from the Dubrovnik State Archives
- Records from the Rijeka State Archives
- Records from the Pazin State Archives
- ARHiNET Croatia 209 vital registers, presently from the Zagreb area only, expected to grow.
- This page was last modified on 19 October 2012, at 21:56.
- This page has been accessed 4,685 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News