Cromford, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cromford, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Cromford, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cromford, Derbyshire
Cromford St Mary Derbyshire.jpg
Cromford St Mary Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1797
Bishop's Transcripts: 1828
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROMFORD, a chapelry, in the parish and hundred of Wirksworth, union of Bakewell, S. division of the county of Derby, 1 mile (N. by E.) from Matlock. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cromford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Cromford Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1797-1912
  NONE
1869-1882
  NONE
1803-1844
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes

Cromford St Mary  was originally a township in Wirksworth, Derbyshire formed as a parish in 1869 and included part of the parish of Middleton by Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D3387 has deposited registers Bap 1797- 1990 Mar 1869-1977, 1980-1987 Burial none Banns 1869-1890, 1932-1972 there are some Arkwright family burials entered in the baptismal register 1843-1974.

The chapel of ease of St Mark Cromford opened in 1877, closed 1957 and was later demolished.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3387 has deposited registers Bap 1877-1957  Burial 1877-1954

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Cromford Wesleyan Baptisms 1806-1837: Transcribed by Jen Durbin, Perth, Western Australia, housed by John Palmer of Dorset

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.


Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cromford on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 729-733. Date accessed: 03 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,795 times.