Crook County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Crook County

Guide to Crook County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Crook County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Crook County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 24, 1882
County Seat Prineville
Courthouse
Or-crook-ch.jpg
Address Crook County Courthouse
300 NE 3rd, Rm 3
Prineville, OR 97754
Website: www.co.crook.or.us
Named for: Gen. George Crook
Crook-george.jpg

Contents

County Courthouse

Crook County Courthouse
300 East  3rd Street
Prineville, Or 97754
Phone: 541-447-6555

County Clerk has birth records 1907-1941, death records 1907-1939,marriage, divorce, probate and court records[1]

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the CrookCounty Court House as of June 2008.

Crook County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

  • Record Loss:


Historical Facts

Named for Gen. George Crook, American general in Civil War and Indian Wars. 


Parent County

24 October 1882: Crook county was created from Wasco County. [2]

Boundary Changes


Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Crook County, Oregon

17 February 1899: Wheeler County was set off.

12 December 1914: Jefferson County was set off

13 December 1916: Deschutes County was set off.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orcrook.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Crook County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crook County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 01:47.
  • This page has been accessed 9,626 times.