Crow Creek Sioux TribeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Indians of South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Crow Creek Sioux Tribe

Guide to Crow Creek Sioux Tribe ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Crow Creek Sioux Tribe
P. O. Box 50
Fort Thompson, SD 57339

Phone:1. 605.245.2221
Fax: 1.605.245.2470

History

Brief Timeline

Reservations

This tribe is primarily associated with the Crow Creek Reservation in South Dakota.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Web Sites

  • Constitution and By-Laws of the Crow Creek Sioux Tribe of Fort Thompson South Dakota, approved April 26, 1949
  • familysearch.org/ catalog: In the keyword search, type in Bureau of Indian Affairs + Crow Creek (or whatever tribe you are researching. This will help you access microfilm records available from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. If you are not local to Salt Lake, you can order microfilm online, and for the cost of postage, the microfilm will be sent to a FamilySearch Center near your home.You can use the microfilm readers there to read the film.

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 August 2015, at 22:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,730 times.