Crowle, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Crowle, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Crowle, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Crowle, Lincolnshire
Crowle St Oswald Lincolnshire.JPG
Crowle St Oswald Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Thorne PLU
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manlake
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROWLE (St. Oswald), a parish, and formerly a market-town (a small town and civil parish on the Isle of Axholme in North Lincolnshire,) in the union of Thorne, W. division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 35 miles (N. N. W.) from Lincoln, and 164 (N. by W.) from London. This Ancient Parish is extensive and includes part of the neighbouring West Riding of Yorkshire within its boundary. The parish includes the eponymous market town and Ealand, Tetley, Haxey and Fieldside. It contains also the chapelry of Eastoft.  There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

St Oswald church has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage (see web site below) 

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Crowle sub-district of Thorne registration district. Thorne registration district

Registers are now held at North Lincolnshire
The Register Office
92 Oswald Road
Scunthorpe
DN15 7PA
01724 843915. registrars@northlincs.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Crowle Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Crowle

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438762.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Crowle/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 737-742. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.
listing for St Oswald

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,589 times.