Crowton, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Crowton, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Crowton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Crowton, Cheshire
Type Township
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1871
Bishop's Transcripts: 1871
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROWTON, a township, in the parish of Weaverham, union of Northwich, Second division of the hundred of Eddisbury, S. division of the county of Chester, 5¼ miles (W. by N.) from Northwich. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.


Church Records

Crowton Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Crowton Christ Church Parish (1871) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1813-1895
  NONE
1873-1934
  NONE
1872-1972
  NONE
FS BT'S 1879-1900
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
1872-1901
  NONE

Crowton Christ Church a township in Weaverham created a parish in 1872 from Weaverham and Norley.

 Here is a list of Crowton parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Christ Church, Crowton, 1871-1971 Cheshire Record Office nos.: P223/1-3.

Parish Registers: Crowton
Film
Baptisms, 1871-1948. Marriages, 1873-1962. Burials, 1872-1971. 1836001 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Christ Church of Crowton, 1871-1901 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 73

Bishops Transcripts: Crowton
Film
Baptisms, 1871-1888, burials, 1872-1887, baptisms, 1889-1890, burials,1889-1890, baptisms, 1891, burials, 1890-1892, baptisms, 1892-1893, burials, 1892-1893, baptisms, 1894-1895, burials, 1893-1895, baptisms, burials, 1896-1898, 1900-1901. 1647369 Item 5
Non-Conformist Churches

Not known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Northwich (1837-1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

Northwich

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

Crowton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 737-742.Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 615 times.