Croydon cum Clapton, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Croydon cum Clapton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Croydon cum Clapton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Armingford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Caxton PLU
Registration District Caxton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1672
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shingay
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROYDON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, hundred of Armingford, county of Cambridge, 6 miles (S. by E.) from Caxton; including the ancient parish of Clapton. It is situated on the road from Royston to Huntingdon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Parish registers for Croydon-cum-Clapton, 1672-1876 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Croydon-cum-Clapton, 1600-1846 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241222.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain 

Web sites

Croydon cum Clapton (Clopton) on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 737-742. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 01:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,639 times.