Culham, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

Parish History

Culham is an Ancient Parish partly in Berkshire and mostly in Oxfordshire.

Other places in the parish include: Otney Mead.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Culham Parish Records begin in 1648. FHL has the following concerning parish records, however note that as this parish is mostly in Oxfordshire, so are the records. 

Culham Bishop Transcripts begin in 1721. These records were microfilmed and are on FHL Film # 0095237 Items 3-4.

For full listing from the Family History Library check it out here.

The original parish registers are held at the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

Census records

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Web sites


 



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 May 2012, at 17:04.
  • This page has been accessed 208 times.