Cynwyl Elfed, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCynwyl Elfed

A guide to genealogy in Cynwyl Elfed, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cynwyl Elfed is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. The community also includes the villages of Blaenycoed and Cwmduad.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

CONVIL, or CYNWYL, a parish, in the higher union of the hundred of ELVET, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 6 3/4 miles (N.N.W.) from Carmarthen, on the road to Newcastle. This is a place of great antiquity. Henry, Earl of Richmond, afterwards Henry VI., is supposed to have marched through it, on his way to meet Richard II. The small rivers Bala and Gwili run through this parish; the neighbouring district is comprised of deep dingles and dorsal hills, which converge in a point at this place. A fair is held on November 21st. the church is dedicated to St. Michael. There are two places of worship for Independents, and one each for Baptists and Welsh Calvinistic Methodists. There are various tumuli in the parish, within which also is a mineral spring, strongly impregnated with iron, and formerly held in considerable repute for its efficacy in the cure of certain diseases.[1]

For more information on Cynwyl Elfed see Cynwyl Elfed at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 882 times.