Dürrenroth parish, Bern, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngBern Gotoarrow.png Dürrenroth parish

Guide to Dürrenroth parish, Bern, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Municipalities within Dürrenroth

Gemeinden or Municipalities
Dürrenroth

Surrounding Parishes


Dürrenroth Gemeinde

It consists of over 5½ square miles and had a population of about 1450 in 1850.

Surnames

The community or gemeinde of Dürrenroth was the heimat or ancestral home for over 30 different surnames. The Register of Swiss Surnames provides the surnames associated with every gemeinde or community in Switzerland. The register provides correct spellings for surnames and place names.

Locations

A google map that shows the villages in Dürrenroth centuries old.

Genealogies

There are numerous compiled genealogies that have been created since 1900; however, they need to verified by researching the parish registers since it has been proven that a percentage of them are inaccurate.

The following genealogies have been researched for Dürrenroth families:

Collections

Church Records

(see here for an article describing the Bern Church records)

The parish registers for Dürrenroth were recorded in the following volumes, as numbered by the Cantonal Archive of Bern:

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Miscellaneous

Civil Registration

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Bern

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 March 2015, at 00:53.
  • This page has been accessed 318 times.