Dale Abbey, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dale Abbey, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Dale Abbey, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dale Abbey, Derbyshire
All Saints Dale Derbyshire.jpg
All Saints Dale Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1667
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Dale Abbey
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

DALE-ABBEY, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (E. by N.) from Derby. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

Click here to read a description of Dale Abbey from John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). 

For historical information on Dale Abbey, go to the All Saints Dale Abbey website.


Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241292.

The Derbyshire Family History Society has created surname indexes to the 1851 and 1891 censuses. The indexes are available at theFamily History Library.

Church Records

Dale Abbey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Dale Abbey Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Dale Abbey was originally a private peculiar owned by the Stanhope family. It was annexed to the parish of Stanton by Dale in the 1960s. The church is dedicated to All Saints and records date from 1667. The parish registers and chest records are deposited at the Derbyshire Record Office in Matlock.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D1061 has deposited registers Bap 1668-1991 Mar 1667-1989 Burials 1668-1926 Banns 1825-1992

Records in the Family History Library Collection

The parish registers are not available on microfilm at the library, but marriages for 1667-1813 have been published in Phillimore's parish register series. The earliest general register for 1667-1731 has also been transcribed and published by the Derbyshire Archaeological Society in volume 22 of their;publications.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 until 1938, Dale Abbey was in the Stapleford sub-district of the Shardlow registration district.  For information on obtaining birth, marriage and death certificates from 1837 to the present, see the Wiki article on England Civil Registration.

Dale Abbey became part of the Ilkeston registration district on 1 April 1938

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate Jurisdiction

Dale Abbey had a manorial court with peculiar probate jursidiction over the estates of persons who resided there.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Dale Abbey on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 1-4. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 4,255 times.