Dallas County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Dallas County

Guide to Dallas County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Dallas County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 9, 1818
County Seat Selma
Courthouse
Dallas County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Dallas County Courthouse
105 Lauderdale
Selma, AL 36702
Phone: (334) 874-2523
Dallas County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1818
Divorce Records from 1917
Probate Records from 1821 and land records from 1820[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Dallas County was created 9 February 1818 from Montgomery County and the Creek Cession of 1814.
County seat: Selma [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Aldallas.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Dallas County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 844.

Cemeteries

Additional Dallas County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Dallas County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1820 6,003
1830 14,017 133.5%
1840 25,199 79.8%
1850 29,727 18.0%
1860 33,625 13.1%
1870 40,705 21.1%
1880 48,433 19.0%
1890 49,350 1.9%
1900 54,657 10.8%
1910 53,401 −2.3%
1920 54,697 2.4%
1930 55,094 0.7%
1940 55,245 0.3%
1950 56,270 1.9%
1960 56,667 0.7%
1970 55,296 −2.4%
1980 53,981 −2.4%
1990 48,130 −10.8%
2000 46,365 −3.7%
2010 43,820 −5.5%
For tips on accessing Dallas County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Baptist
  • Jackson, Walter M. The First Hundred Years: A History of the Selma Baptist Church of Christ, Commonly Known as the First Baptist Church of Selma. Selma, Ala., 1942. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Methodist
  • Fry, Anna M. Gayle. Memories of Old Cahaba. Nashville, Tenn.: Printed for the author by the Publishing House of the M.E. Church, 1908. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Court Records

Directories

Dallas County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dallas County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

 Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Dallas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Dallas County.


- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D [formerly Jackson County Mounted Rifles]
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company F[formerly Murphy's Independent Co.]
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I [formerly Lenoir County Cavalry]
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company K
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A(Governor's Guard)
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A [subsequently, Company F]
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H(Mounted)
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Independent Blues"
- 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- 28th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 44th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and G
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company I
- 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H



Civil War Battle Fought in Dallas County
  • 1865 - April 2 = Selma

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dallas County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Dallas County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Dallas County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Dallas County is in District 2.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1818–1826, 1835–1839, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1818–1845 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Dallas County lists six books, but books 4 and 6 appear to be duplicates of Volume 5.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dallas County p. 36. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 March 2014, at 01:51.
  • This page has been accessed 15,375 times.