Danbury, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Danbury, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.pngEssex Parishes 

Guide to Danbury, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Danbury, Essex
St John the Baptist Danbury Essex.jpg
St John the Baptist Danbury Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford PLU
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Danbury
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Danbury, is a village and a parish in Chelmsford district, Essex. The village stands on high ground, it is 4 1/2 miles E by S of Chelmsford railway station. It includes the hamlets of Runsell and Bicknare.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Danbury, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Danbury, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1673-1968
1705-1957
1674-1946
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
NBI



1674-1946

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St John the Baptist See also Danbury Congregational later United Reform Church

Parish registers, 1673-1920 Microfilm copy of original at the Essex Record Office in Chelmsford. Reference  D/P114/1/1-8.Contents: item 4. Baptisms, burials, 1673-1759; marriages, 1673-1754 -- item 5. Baptisms, burials, 1758-1812 -- item 6. Marriages, 1754-1807 -- item 7. Marriages, 1807-1812 -- item 8. Baptisms, 1813-1862 -- item 9. Burials, 1813-1897 -- item 10. Marriages, 1813-1837 -- item 11. Marriage banns, 1807-1920. FHL BRITISH Film 1472208 Items 4-11

Bishop's transcripts for Danbury, 1629-1631 Microfilm of original records at the Guildhall Library, London.IN Copies of parish registers brought in at visitations, various dates / Church of England. Diocese of London. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1629-1631 (55th parish). FHL BRITISH Film 413720

Bishop's transcripts for Danbury, 1800-1875 Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, reference: D/CR 115.

Baptisms, burials, 1800-1835, 1852-1875; marriages, 1800-1835. FHL BRITISH Film 1702263 Item 4

Danbury Branch of the Church of Jesus Christof Latter-day Saints Record of members, 1852-1858 Microfilm copy of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City.These records may contain dates which predate the creation of the records.Includes record of members, 1852-1858; ordinations, 1852-1855; and blessings, 1852.May print only direct ancestor and those born 95+ years ago. All other information must be crossed out.Historian's Office Library no.: 257  Record of members FHL BRITISH Film 86994 Item 2.

Non-Conformist Churches

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Danbury on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (London and Edinburgh, 1870). Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 4,150 times.