Darley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Darley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Darley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darley, Derbyshire
Darley Dale St Helen Derbyshire.jpg
Darley Dale St Helen Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake; Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

DARLEY (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Bakewell, partly in the hundred of Wirksworth, but chiefly in that of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (N. W.) from Matlock with the townships of Wensley and Snitterton in the hamlet of Darley-Dale. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Darley Dale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
DARLEY DALE PARISH (1541) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Darley St Helen The parish originally included township of  Wensley with Snitterton which transferred to South Darley, Derbyshire in 1845 The hamlet of Little Rowsley transferred to Rowsley, Derbyshire parish in 1860

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1978 has deposited registers Bap 1569- 1998 Mar 1591-1994 Burial 1539-1992 Banns 1756-1791, 1823-1844, 1877-1900, 1910-1996

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 8-15. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 13:07.
  • This page has been accessed 4,007 times.