Darlington Holy Trinity, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Darlington Holy Trinity, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Darlington Holy Trinity, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Darlington|
|Parish registers: 1843|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
DARLINGTON (St. Cuthbert), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the S. E. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 18½ miles (S.) from Durham, and 236½ (N. N. W.) from London; comprising the townships of Archdeacon-Newton, Blackwell, Cockerton, and Darlington. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists; the Society of Friends; Independents; Primitive, Association, and Wesleyan Methodists; and Roman Catholics. A district church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected in 1838
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The registers for the period 1843-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.HT).
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/72 Date: August 1843-1854. Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Engineering work will in future improve acess to the parishes at present under "Darlington" in the transcript collection at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Non Conformist Churches
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Association
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Darlington, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241350.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Darlington on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:03.
- This page has been accessed 2,852 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News