Darlington St Cuthbert, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Darlington St Cuthbert, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darlington St Cuthbert, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

DARLINGTON (St. Cuthbert), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the S. E. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 18½ miles (S.) from Durham, and 236½ (N. N. W.) from London; There are places of worship for Particular Baptists; the Society of Friends; Independents; Primitive, Association, and Wesleyan Methodists; and Roman Catholics.[1]

Additional information: St Cuthbert's parish as an ancient parish including the following places Archdeacon Newton, Blackwell, Bondgate,Brankin Moor, Cockerton, Prebend and Preistgate, Darlington Borough,Oxney and Oxneyfield.[2]


Parish Records

Parish Registers for the period 1590-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.SC). Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/73 August 1762- January 1893 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. In addition the Burial Ground registers for the Darlington Friends ar located at DDR/EA/PBT/2/71 from 1865-1897 the transcript of burials in St Cuthbert's Darlington. Engineering work will in future improve acess to the parishes at present under "Darlington" in the transcript collection at FamilySearch Historical Records The current images for this parish have not been completely loaded and a reload for the year range displayed from 1794/5 to 1820 awaits future engineering work. The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. fckLRfckLRFamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Darlington, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241350.

Poor Law Unions 

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br> fckLRfckLR*England Jurisdictions 1851 fckLR*Vision of Britain


Darlington on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. LewisA Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, fckLRfckLRFrom: 'Darlaston - Datchet', A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 8-15. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:04.
  • This page has been accessed 4,451 times.