Darlington St John, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Darlington St John, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Darlington St John, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darlington St John, Durham
St John's church Darlington Durham.jpg
St John's church Darlington Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington PLU
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Darlington St John. One of the parishes created from Darlington St John, Durham in 1845. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists; the Society of Friends; Independents; Primitive, Association, and Wesleyan Methodists; and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Darlington, St John: The registers for the period 1847-1987 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.SJ).

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Darlington, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241350.


Poor Law Unions

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Darlington on GENUKI


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2015, at 16:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,945 times.