Dartmouth St Saviour, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dartmouth St Saviour, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Dartmouth St Saviour, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dartmouth St Saviour, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coleridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Totnes
Registration District Totnes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Totnes
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

DARTMOUTH, otherwise Clifton-Dartmouth-Hardness, a borough, seaport, and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Totnes, locally in the hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 30¾ miles(S. by W.) from Exeter, and 204 (W. S. W.) from London. Dartmouth comprises the parishes of St. Petrox, St. Saviour, Townstall (St. Clement), and part of Stoke-Fleming. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

St Saviour's Church constructed in 1335 and consecrated in 1372. It lies within Dartmouth, a town and civil parish in the English county of Devon. It is a tourist destination set on the banks of the estuary of the River Dart, which is a long narrow tidal ria that runs inland as far as Totnes. It lies within the South Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and South Hams District.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dartmouth St Saviour, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Dartmouth St Saviour, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


IGI 1586-1837

Non-Conformist churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyans

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241306.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Dartmouth St Saviour on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Date accessed and adapted: 26 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 November 2015, at 23:52.
  • This page has been accessed 4,127 times.