Davenport Iowa Family History CenterEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The Davenport Family History was established in 1982. The Center services southeastern Iowa and northwestern Illinois around the Quad Cities.
The Center has over 3,500 films and over 750 books on various genealogical topics and areas.
Record holdings include:
- Scott County, Iowa
- Rock Island County, Illinois
- Schleswig-Holstein (both in Denmark & Germany)
- Sweden, various areas
- Many other countries' and American states' records
Center Contacts and Hours
- 4929 Wisconsin Ave Davenport IA 52806 United States
- The entrance is located on the South side of the building.
- There is a handicap ramp located at this entrance.
- Other hours by appointment only. Must be scheduled with the Director.
Closed New Years
Closed 4th of July
Calendar and Events
Class Schedule 2015
Free classes are taught on the 2nd Saturday of each month (except in Apr and Dec) at the Family History Center from 10:30 am to 11:30 am.
The classes are open to the public and no registration is required.
If you have questions, call the Family History Center at 563-386-7547.
Jan 10 Family Tree on FamilySearch.org
Feb 14 Timelines in Genealogy
Mar 14 Evaluating the Evidence: Analyzing and Interpreting Your Records
Apr no class
May 9 Social Security and Railroad Records
Jun 13 Westward Expansion
Jul 11 Emigration with an “E”
Aug 8 Unusual and Little Used Resources
Sep 12 Scanning and Photo Sharing
Oct 10 Findagrave.com and BillionGraves.com
Nov 14 My Cherokee Princess
Dec no class
Staff Training Meetings
- FamilySearch Catalog: The FamilySearch Catalog is a list of all of the collections available for viewing or rental from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. (If the film is viewable online, it will be noted on the catalog with a link to the online film.)
- Please see the Introduction to the FamilySearch Catalog for instructions on how to use the Catalog.
- Films may be ordered online. Each person will have to sign in and order the film with their credit information. Choose the Davenport Family History Center as the place the film is to be sent. Patrons will be notified when the film arrives.
Databases and Software
- FHC Portal This center has access to the Portal website which gives free access on the Family History Center's computers to many premium family history websites that generally require a subscription fee.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers - A fully searchable database of the 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers from 1800-1900. It contains nearly 3 million pages and 40 million articles.
- Access Newspaper Archive - World's largest online newspaper archive, Features billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U. S. and the world. Full page and fully searchable.
- Alexander Street Press – The America Civil War:
- The American Civil War Research Database - contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. The database has thousands of regimental rosters and officer profiles. It includes a record for virtually every soldier who served in the war. There are descriptions of thousands of battles, with detailed multi-page battle orders and reports for significant battles such as Shiloh, Antietam, and Gettysburg.
- Civil War Letters and Diaries - contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. It is indexed. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies.
- Images of the American Civil War - provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, the home front, politics, and general society. The database currently holds over 12,200 images.
- Ancestry Family History Library Edition – This site has 10+ billion records. U. S. federal and state census records, vital records, passenger lists, Canadian census, church, and vital records, UK census records, birth, marriage and death indexes, and other international records.
- ArkivDigital Online – Swedish Church Records and much more
- Find My Past – This site contains indexes for England and Wales, parish registers, death duty registers, passport applications, passenger lists leaving UK, 1841 through 1911, censuses, and military records.
- Fold 3 – Resources cover colonial to mid-1900s US records. Includes some census records, vital records, photos, city directories, newspapers, town records, naturalizations, Revolutionary War records and Civil war and later military indexes, World War II "Old man's Draft" Cards, War of 1812 Pension Files, Mexican War Service Records, World War I. Officer Experience Reports, and Confederate Casualty Reports
- Godfrey Memorial Library – Early American and 19th century U.S. newspaper and unique resources (this content is comprised of Godfrey’s own unique digitized in-house content), donated genealogical books, research materials and projects, Civil war research database, letters and diaries.
- Heritage Quest Online – Census records (indexed by heads of household, but not all years are indexed), digitized searchable books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), selected records from the Revolutionary War pension and bounty land warrant application files, Freedman’s Bank Records, and U. S. Serial Set.
- Historical Map Works Library Edition – Over 800,000 property maps covering the U.S. from late 1700’s to the present, over 100,000 antique maps covering the world from 15th to 19th centuries, and city directories, atlases, business ads, bird’s eye views.
- Paper Trail – Index to Mormon and Oregon Trail Diaries.
- World Vital Records – Worldwide records including immigration, some U.S., Canadian and U.K. censuses, vital records, parish and land records, family histories, directories, court probate records, digitized books and newspapers, Irish wills and censuses, German Hungarian land census, Scottish death records, England and Wales Births, Marriages, and Deaths.
Hardware and Equipment
- 9 computers with printers (internet connection for genealogical research only)
- 7 film readers
- 2 fich readers
- 1 film/fiche digital copier
- copiers and printers
- dictionaries of many languages
- reference guides for areas worldwide
- reference books on genealogical research
- The Center is not a lending library. All films, fiche and books must remain within the Center.
Schleswig-Holstein (both in Denmark & Germany)
Resources in the Local Area
Augustana College, Rock Island, Illinois - Swenson Center for Swedish Research
Illinois Public Records on-line at IRAD
Volunteer Staff at the Center
The Center is staffed by volunteers.
The staff will provide research helps and answer questions. Patrons must perform their own research.
- This page was last modified on 27 March 2015, at 17:37.
- This page has been accessed 12,952 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News