Daviess County, Missouri GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Daviess County, Missouri)

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Daviess County

Guide to Daviess County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records



Daviess County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 29, 1836
County Seat Gallatin
Courthouse
Address Daviess County Courthouse
102 N Main Street
Gallatin, MO 64640
Phone: 660.663.2641
Daviess County Website

Contents

County Information

Daviess County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1837 1883 1830 1838 1890

County Courthouse



County Library has birth and death record on microfilm 1883-1893
and local census 1876; Recorder of Deeds has land records;
Probate Court has probate records[2]

History

The History of Daviess County, Missouri (1882) is available online free from Google Books.

Parent County

1836--Daviess County was created 29 December 1836 from Ray County. County seat: Gallatin [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

  • Arthur Paul Moser has short descriptions of towns in Daviess county, many of them no longer exist.

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Caldwell  • Dekalb  • Gentry  • Grundy  • Harrison  • Livingston

Caldwell CountyDaviess CountyClinton CountyBuchanan CountyLivingston CountyCarroll CountyLinn CountyGrundy CountySullivan CountyPutnam CountyMercer CountyHarrison CountyGentry CountyAndrew CountyDeKalb CountyNodaway CountyWorth CountyRinggold CountyTaylor CountyDecatur CountyWayne CountyDoniphan CountyPage CountyMODaviess1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Steve Reid's page has about 70 transcriptions of Daviess county cemeteries.  Many of these transcriptions are current only to the 1970s.  The page also includes a historical description of all known Daviess county cemeteries and directions to their location.

Lanita Sconce Smith's page and the Daviess County Historical Society sort Daviess county burials by name.

Find A Grave has many Daviess county cemetery transcriptions.

Here is another page of Daviess county cemeteries for Clear Creek, Creekmore, Enyart, Everly, Foley, Frazier, Guthrie, Hays, Hemry/Payne, Hill, Lick Fork, Lock Springs, McCrary, Muddy, Old Union, Pell, Pilot Grove 1, Reid (partial), Trosper, Trotten, and Weldon.

Here are transcriptions of the Winston and Muddy cemeteries.  Other transcriptions of Muddy cemetery are here and here.

The Missouri Tombstone Transcription project has links to McCrary, Lick Fork, Creekmore, and Old Scotland cemeteries.

Brenda Abplanalp and Virgil Givens abstracted the Wooderson cemetery.

Census

The 1876 State Census for Daviess county is available at Ancestry.com or on microfilm ($15) from the Missouri State Archives.

For tips on accessing Daviess County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.


Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Trails.com has a partial list of historic and current churches in Daviess county.  A slightly different list is given by the USGS database.

Baptist

Primitive Baptist Library in Carthage, IL maintains a Daviess county, Missouri page on their website.

Grand River Baptist Church in Jameson - History and list of early members. Missouri Genealogy and History.

Grand River Baptist Church in Jameson - History. (Daviess County Historical Society). Photos & Tours (William Jewell College) Note also that he William Jewell College is a major repository for Missouri Baptist records.

Catholic

Gallatin

  • 1871-1875 - Catholic Church, Gallatin, Baptism Index 1871-1875. Batch C511511 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1871 - Catholic Church, Gallatin, Marriage Index 1871. Batch M511511 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Jamesport

  • 1872-1876 - Catholic Church, Jamesport, Baptism Index 1872-1876. Batch C511631 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1873 - Catholic Church, Jamesport, Marriage Index 1873. Batch M511631 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

St. Joannis, Bancroft

  • 1870-1876 - St. Joannis, Bancroft, Baptism Index 1870-1876. Batch C511611 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1871, 1883-1885 - St. Joannis, Bancroft, Marriage Index 1871, 1883-1885. Batch M511611 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.


There are two types of patents. Those issued by the state and those by the Federal Government.

The Missouri Secretary of State sponsors a site with land patents for Daviess county 1831-1969. 

For patents issued by the Federal Government for land in Daviess county click here. Enter Missouri and your ancestors surname. If you find a record for your ancestor you will be able to download a PDF of the patent. You should also consider ordering the associated case file.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Daviess County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

The Daviess County Historical Society lists a variety of county and family histories and other resources.

  • Leopard, John C. History of Daviess and Gentry counties, Missouri. Tucson, Arizona : W.C. Cox, 1974.
  • The History of Daviess County, Missouri : an encyclopedia of useful information, and a compendium of actual facts .... Kansas City, Missouri : Birdsall & Dean, 1882.
  • Jordin, John F. Memories : being a story of early times in Daviess County, Missouri, and character sketches of some of the men who helped to develop its latent resources. Gallatin, Mo. : North Missourian Press, [1904?].

Maps

Modaviess.jpg

Military

Names of soldiers are engraved in the pavement bricks of the war memorial near the courthouse.

Civil War
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 2nd Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Millitia, 6 months (Union), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 57th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 57th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 57th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 2nd Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Millitia, 6 months (Union), Company A

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Daviess County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • The Genealogy Department of the Daviess County Library, given a specific date, will do lookups in the newspapers listed on their website for a small fee.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

As of Mar 2013 neither the Missouri State Archives, nor the FHL appear to have early tax lists in their microfilm collections for Daviess County. So if they exist, they are probably held by the county clerks office at the courthouse.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

There is a Daviess county Genealogical Societyand a Daviess County Historical Society.  The Daviess County Library in Gallatin also has genealogical records.  Other Missouri libraries with Daviess county records include the Midwest Genealogy Center in Independence, the Missouri State Historical Library in Columbia and the State Archives in Jefferson City.

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Daviess County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Daviess County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Daviess County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Daviess County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Daviess County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Daviess County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Daviess County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 4.9 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 August 2015, at 20:27.
  • This page has been accessed 28,131 times.