Dawson County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Dawson County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Dawson County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 3, 1857|
|Address|| Dawson County Courthouse|
PO Box 192
Dawsonville, GA 30534-0192
Dawson County Website
Dawson County Courthouse
PO Box 192
Dawsonville, GA 30534-0192
County Clerk has divorce, court and land records
Clerk of Superior Court
25 Justice Way, Suite 1302
Dawsonville, GA 30534
Telephone: (706) 344-3510
Fax: (706) 344-3511
Probate Court of Dawson County
25 Justice Way, Suite 4332
Dawsonville, GA 30534
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
No reported loss or damage.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Dawson County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Regiments. Service men in Dawson County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dawson County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- - 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies I and L
- - 52nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Dawson County Historical and Genealogical Society (Dawson County, Ga.). 1997. Dawson County, Georgia Heritage, 1857-1996. [Waynesville, N.C.]: Walsworth Pub. (page 38-39) 975.8263 H2d Google Book $
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Dawson County). 1963. Confederate pension rolls, 1890-1920. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. 288166
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dawson County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1857-1862 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns, Books D and E, 1835-1854 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Wills, Guardians, Administrators, Bonds, Bk B 1857-1896 Georgia Pioneers
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1785 - 1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1808 - 1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1858-1883 - Dawson County Marriage Index 1858-1883. Batch M712631 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1883-1962 - Dawson County Marriage Index 1883-1962. Batch M712632 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1933 - 1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1914 - 1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1928 - 1938 Georgia Deaths 1928-1938 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1869-70, 1879-80 - Dawson County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Dawson County Historical Society
P.O. Box 303
Dawsonville 30534 706-265-3985
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Dawson County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Dawson County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Dawson County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneer
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dawson County, Georgia. Page 154 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 25-26. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 31 August 2015, at 20:40.
- This page has been accessed 17,068 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News