Dearborn County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Dearborn County

Guide to Dearborn County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records


Dearborn County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 7, 1803
County Seat Lawrenceburg
Courthouse
Address Dearborn County Courthouse
215-B High Street
Lawrenceburg, In 47025
Phone: 812-537-8867
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1806*
1882*
1821
1824
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Ohio  • Ripley  • Franklin  • Hamilton  • Boone

Franklin CountyUnion CountyFayette CountyGrant CountyGallatin CountyHamilton CountyJennings CountyOhio CountySwitzerland CountyBoone CountyClermont CountyWarren CountyButler CountyKenton CountyBartholomew CountyDecatur CountyShelby CountyRipley CountyPendleton CountyJefferson CountyRush CountyCampbell CountyDearborn CountyINDearborn.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

March 1826 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Dearborn Cemetery Locator gives the names alphabetically, the Indiana State Library book call number, and if there is a Website, the URL. You can search a particular county by clicking on the button "New Search" and typing in the county name.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Dearborn County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Church of Christ
Lutheran

Dillsboro

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Dillsboro, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Kelso

St. Stephen's Lutheran Church, Manchester

Presbyterian

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dearborn County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dearborn County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.


  • A short history of Dearborn County is located here.
  • History of Dearborn and Ohio Counties, Indiana: From Their Earliest Settlement, Containing a History of the Counties; Their Cities, Townships, Towns, Villages, Schools, and Churches ... Biographies; Preliminary Chapters on the History of the North-West Territory, the State of Indiana, and the Indians. (Evansville, IN: Whipporwill Publications, 1986.) 977.21 H2h 1977 FHL US/CAN Book    FHL Collection  other library   INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Weakley, Harraman & Co. History of Dearborn, Ohio and Switzerland Counties, Indiana: From Their Earliest Settlement, Containing a History of the Counties, Their Cities, Townships, Towns, Villages, Schools, and Churches ... Biographies ... History of the North-West Territory, the State of Indiana, and the Indians. (Chicago: Weakley, Harraman & Co, 2008.)  other library    INTERNET ARCHIVE

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dearborn County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps


Military Records

Revolutionary War
War of 1812
Mexican War
Civil War

Civil War service men from Dearborn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dearborn County.




Civil War Book


"Civil War"  Chapter 13 in History of Dearborn and Ohio Counties, Indiana: From Their Earliest Settlement, Containing a History of the Counties; Their Cities, Townships, Towns, Villages, Schools, and Churches ... Biographies; Preliminary Chapters on the History of the North-West Territory, the State of Indiana, and the Indians. (Evansville, IN: Whipporwill Publications, 1986.) page 203-225,  977.21 H2h 1977 FHL US/CAN Book    FHL Collection  other library   INTERNET ARCHIVE

Spanish-American War
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Probate records are court records created after an individual’s death that relate to a court’s decisions regarding the distribution of the estate to the heirs or creditors and the care of any dependents. These documents are important to family history researchers because they usually exist for time periods before civil birth and death records were kept. While probate records are one of the most accurate sources of genealogical evidence, they have limitations.

The Circuit Court has responsibility for the probate records of Dearborn County.

The following Dearborn County probate records have been indexed and transcribed:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Dearborn County Courthouse
215-B High Street
Lawrenceburg, In 47025
Phone: 812-537-8867

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1826
Divorce, Probate and court records.
County Health Officer has birth and death records.
County Recorder has land records. [4]

Archives
Libraries

The Dearborn Public Library has a genealogy section with a resident genealogist available to do one hour free research of their records.  The Web site lists what records are available for searching.

Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Dearborn County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dearborn County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Dearborn County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Dearborn County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Dearborn County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dearborn_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dearborn County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 17:05.
  • This page has been accessed 14,864 times.