Del Norte County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Del Norte County

Guide to Del Norte County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Del Norte County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Del Norte County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 2, 1857
County Seat Crescent City
Courthouse
Address Del Norte County Courthouse]
981 H St;
Crescent City, CA 95531;
Phone 707.464.7204
Del Norte County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1848;
County recorder has birth, marriage and death records from 1873,
land records from 1853, leases andagreements 1857-1954[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Del Norte County, California

Del Norte County (pronounced del-nort) sits in the far north west corner of California on the Pacific coast. Exploration by Europeans began with American explorer Jedediah Smith and it was organized into a county in 1857. Forests cover much of this rural territory.

Parent County

2 March 1857: Del Norte County was created from former Klamath County.
County seat: Crescent City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

18 January 1948: Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Populated Places 

Bertsch-Oceanview, Crescent City, Darlingtonia, Douglas Park, Fort Dick, Gasquet, Hiouchi, Klamath, Patrick Creek, Smith River.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Del Norte County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Del Norte County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Cadelnorte.png

Military History and Records

Migration

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Del Norte County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Del Norte - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

www.co.del-norte.ca.us/

Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

HEADINGS 4 and 5


Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Del Norte County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2014, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 5,914 times.