Delta County, Michigan GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Delta County, Michigan)

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Delta County

Guide to Delta County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Delta County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 9, 1843
County Seat Escanaba
Courthouse
Address Delta County Courthouse
310 Ludington Street
Escanaba, MI 49829
Phone: (906) 789-5105
Delta County Website

Contents

County Information

Delta County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1869 1869 1869 1820 1843 1843

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth, marriage, death,
divorce court, probate and land records 1867. [2]

History

Parent County

1843--Delta County was created 9 March 1843 from Mackinac County and unorganized territories. It was attached to Mackinac County prior to ogranization 12 March 1861. County seat: Escanaba [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Michigan counties see: Michigan Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Cities: Escanaba . Gladstone
  • Village: Garden
  • Townships: Baldwin . Bark River . Nay de Noc . Brampton . Cornell . Ensign . Escanaba . Fairbanks . Ford River . Garden . Maple Ridge . Masonville . Nahma . Wells
  • Communities: Bark River . Fayette . Garden Cornes . Isabella . Schaffer . Rapid River

Neighboring Counties

Alger  • Marquette  • Menominee  • Schoolcraft

Luce CountyMackinac CountyDelta CountySchoolcraft CountyAlger CountyMarquette CountyIron CountyHoughton CountyForest CountyMarinette CountyOconto CountyDoor CountyLanglade CountyMenominee CountyFlorence CountyKeweenaw CountyBaraga CountyMenominee CountyDickinson CountyMIDelta.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Delta County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Midelta.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Delta County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Delta County.

-

Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delta County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Delta and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Societies and Libraries

  • Delta County MI GenWeb - This link takes the researcher to a GENWEB page with several online databases, including births, marriages, cemetery records, the library catalog with entries by ethnicity, surname, etc; probate records, and Civil War records. However, the site is not maintained by the Genealogical Society. Their holdings at the Escanaba City Library include numerous Canadian resources listed according to province, county, then parish, Delta County and Michigan resources, many genealogies, local histories and records, as well as histories, research tools, and other publications for most of the United States, Canada, and several European countries.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Delta County, Michigan page 345, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 January 2016, at 03:34.
  • This page has been accessed 12,023 times.