Delves, The Good Shepherd, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Delves, The Good Shepherd, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Delves the Good Shepherd was formed as chapel of ease to Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire parish. In 1875 it became part of Wednesbury St Paul Wood Green. It closed in 1936 when the new ecclesiastical district of St Gabriel, Fullbrook, Walsall was formed.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records


Delves The Good Shepherd parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]   FREG - Search under Wednesbury
DELVES THE GOOD SHEPHERD (1857) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1857-1885


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1857-1875 Mar none Bur no burial ground Lichfield Record Office has no holdings of Bishop's Transcripts

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2015, at 13:03.
  • This page has been accessed 773 times.