Denmark: Access Orginal RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Denmark Page

You can access original records and secondary sources through:

Contents

Family History Library

Microform Records

The Family History Library presently has over 90,000 rolls of microfilm and a growing collection of microfiche containing information about people who lived in Denmark. Most of the library's records have been obtained through an extensive and ongoing acquisition program. The library has microform copies of records found in Danish archives. These records include:

  • Birth, marriage, death records from the Danish state church.
  • Passenger lists.
  • Censuses.
  • Probate records.
  • Military records.

Printed Records

The library has over 3,000 volumes of books and other printed materials helpful for Danish research. Copies of some of these books are available in microform. These include such books as:

  • Atlases and maps.
  • Family histories.
  • Gazetteers.
  • Handbooks and manuals.
  • Histories (national and local).
  • Periodicals.

You are welcome to and use the records at the Family History Library. The library is open to the public. If you would like more information about its services, check the Family Search Website at www.FamilySearch.org or contact the library at the following address:

Family History Library
35 North West Temple Street
Salt Lake City, Utah 84150

Family History Centers

There are more than 4,500 centers worldwide. To find a Family History Center near you, go to Find a Family History Center. Each center determines its own hours. Where available, the information in “Find a Family History Center” includes the hours of service and a telephone number. Before you visit, contact the center to verify when it is open. Copies of most of the records on microfilm and microfiche at the Family History Library can be lent to the family history centers. There are reasonable duplication and postage fees for this service. The library's books cannot be lent to the centers but copies of many books not protected by copyright are available on microfilm or microfiche.

Danish National and Regional Archives

The National and Regional Archives in Denmark have gathered the original parish registers, censuses, military records, and probates (among many other records) into thier collections. You might need to contact one of these archives when a record is not accessible in micro (-film / fiche) or digital form. You can also contact the archives through e-mail for further guidance or suggestions.

Libraries and interlibrary loan

Public, academic and other research libraries may have some published sources for Danish research. Many libraries also provide a interlibrary loan service.

Photocopies

The Family History Library offers limited photo duplication services for a small fee. You must specify the exact pages you need. Be aware that information that is protected by copyright cannot be copied in the entirety. However, a few pages can usually be copied for personal research. The Danish archives offer photographic prints of some records, but costs may be relatively high. When requesting services from libraries or professional researchers through correspondence, you will have more success if your e-mail or letter is brief and specific.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 October 2011, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 2,054 times.