Denmark GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Welcome to the Denmark Page!
FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers.
The Denmark portal page has many helpful articles that can help you learn how to find, use, and analyze Danish records of genealogical value. There are also sections on the page that can help simplify the research process. In the What Are You Looking For section, you can learn the basic strategies used for finding ancestors. The Research Tools section contains many valuable links, English guides to Danish websites, and other such tools that make research easier. Finally, the Jurisdictions section can help you locate an ancestor's place of origin, determine where records are located, and so much more.
The Denmark page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential! If you would like to help in any way, please see theWikiProjects and Help Wanted sections.
What Are You Looking For?
|How to Find Information for Danish Ancestors|
Another source for Danish researchers of all levels is My Danish Ancestors, A Step-by-Step Guide to Utilizing FamilySearch.org to find Danish Ancestors.
Wiki articles describing online collections is found at:
- Denmark Civil Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Denmark, Estate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
In 1793 the Counties were reorganized into 24 Counties. However, Roskilde is filed under København so we only list 23 counties below. The churches in Copenhagen City are listed under the city rather than the county.
The Danish name for county is Amt. The organization of Danish records in the FamilySearch Catalog is based upon this time period.
The Standard which FamilySearch uses is as follows Town, Sogn (Parish), Herred, Amt (County), Denmark
You can help build the Danish content on the FamilySearch Wiki by participating with a FamilySearch Wikiproject.
|Click on the following link for a list of projects you can help with! The more people that help, the easier Danish research will become for everyone!|
Here's a quick reference to specific activities:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Denmark
- This page was last modified on 17 November 2015, at 15:47.
- This page has been accessed 1,580,916 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News