Denver County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngDenver County

Guide to Denver County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Denver County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Denver County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 18, 1901
County Seat Denver
Courthouse
Address Denver County Courthouse
1437 Bannock Street Ste 200
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-630-3012
Denver County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Denver County has annexed territory from Arapahoe, Adams and Jefferson Counties on several occasions.  The county clerk has marriage records from 1902 and land records from 1859. 
The clerk of the district court has divorce records from 1967, probate and court records from 1858.[1]

City of Denver Vital Records
605 Bannock Street, Rm 302
Denver, CO 80204
(303) 436-7351


Clerk & Recorder's Office
City and County Building
1437 Bannock Street, Rm 391
Denver, CO 80202
(720) 865-8400

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1872-1907 [2]*
1860[3] *
1887 -1907[3]*

1902 [3]
1902 [3]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Denver [4]

Parent County

1901--Denver County was created 18 March 1901 from Arapahoe County.

Neighboring Counties

Codenver.jpg

Record Loss

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

The William P. Horan Burial Records online index for Denver area burials from 1900 to 1956 can be accessed here.

Census

For tips on accessing Denver County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Denver, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Denver County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Denver County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Fold3.com ($) has Denver City Directories 1862, 1866, and 1871-1923 (only 2 yrs. missing) available online. Fold3 is free at some libraries.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Denver County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Colorado State Archives has put the Denver War Risk Insurance Applicants Index for the years 1916-1919 on-line.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Denver County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Denver County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Denver Birth Index 1875 - 1909
Denver Death Index 1870 - 1909
Denver Inheritance Tax 1909 - 1912
Denver Lot and Block Index 1862 - 1917
Denver Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936
Denver War Risk Insurance Applications 1914 - 1917

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries

Denver Public Library
10 W 14th Avenue
Parkway Denver, CO 80204
Telephone: 720-865-1111
Website
http://www.denverlibrary.org/

Museums
Societies
  • WISE Family History Society (Wales, Ireland, Scotland, England)
    P.O. Box 40658
    Denver, CO 80204-0658
    Website
    http://www.wise-fhs.org

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has put the Denver County Inheritance Tax Records Index for the years 1909-1912 on-line.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [5]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [5]

Divorce

All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Denver County Courts, Colorado Judicial District 2. Please contact their office directly at 720-865-8301.

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Denver County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Earliest Colorado Vital Records on File in Colorado Counties, pub. by Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, accessed on www.colorado.gov
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton fckLRPublishers, 2002).
  5. 5.0 5.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 20:19.
  • This page has been accessed 8,461 times.