Derby St Alkmund, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Derby St Alkmund, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Derby St Alkmund, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Derby St Alkmund, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Derby Borough; Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Derby
Registration District Derby; Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Derby
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

Derby St Alkmund is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Little Chester. The town of Derby comprises the parishes of All Saints, St. Werburgh, St. Alkmund, St. Peter, and St. Michael. The old church of St. Alkmund's was taken down, and a new one commenced in the beginning of 1844 on an enlarged scale. The chapelries of Little Eaton and Darley are in this parish, though without the limits of the borough; and a church district named St. Paul's was endowed in St. Alkmund's in 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners.[1]

Derby township was comprised by 1880, of the following associated parishes, chapels and chapelries:

There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans (New and Old Connexion), New Jerusalemite, Presbyterian, Swedenborgians, and Unitarians; and a Roman Catholic chapel, erected in 1839. The Roman Catholics have also built a handsome structure as a residence for the Sisters of Mercy, and for a chapel and schools. A general cemetery was opened in 1843.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Derby St Alkmund parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Derby St Alkmund Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1828-1886

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This parish originally included the township chapelry of Darley Abbey, Derbyshire until 1846. The parish united with Derby St Werburgh, Derbyshire in 1984. The register series for 1712-1802 contain many Quarndon, Derbyshire entries.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 916 has deposited registers Bap 1538-1968 Mar 1538-1967, 1972-1983 Burials 1538-1855 Banns 1895-1967

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Derby, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Methodist New Connexion

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241300.

Poor Law Unions

Derby Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Derby St Alkmund on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 30 June 2103.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 21:22.
  • This page has been accessed 3,500 times.