Derby St John, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Derby St John, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Derby St John, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Derby St John, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Derby Borough; Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Derby PLU
Registration District Derby; Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Derby
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DERBY, a borough and market-town, possessing separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, of which it is the capital, 16 miles (W.) from Nottingham, 27 miles (N. W.) from Leicester, and 126 (N. W.) from London, on the river Derwent, and on the high road to Manchester. It includes parts of certain parishes which extend beyond the limits of the borough. The town comprises the parishes of All Saints, St. Werburgh, St. Alkmund, St. Peter, and St. Michael. Within the parish of St. Werburgh a chapel dedicated to St. John has been erected in the later English style.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Derby St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Derby St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Derby, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Methodist New Connexion

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241300.


Poor Law Unions

Derby Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Derby on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 30 June 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 13:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,676 times.