Dethick Lea and Halloway, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Dethick Lea and Halloway, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dethick Lea and Halloway, Derbyshire
St John the Baptist Dethwick Derbyshire.jpg
St John the Baptist Dethwick Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1826
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DETHWICK-LEA, a chapelry, in the parish of Ashover, union of Belper, hundred of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from Matlock with the hamlet of Holloway. The joint township of Dethwick, Lea, and Holloway, comprises 2110 acres of land. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Unitarians. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dethick Lea and Halloway parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Dethick Lea and Halloway Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Dethick Lea and Holloway St John the Baptist . Dethick and Lea were orignally a chapelry in Ashover, Derbyshire parish and Baptisms 1754-1847 will be found within the Ashover, Derbyshire parish register of baptisms. It became a separate parish in 1901 with the addition of Holloway part of Crich, Derbyshire Parish.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D3393 & D 253 has deposited registers Bap 1754-1900 Mar 1757, 1899-2004 Burials 1911-2006 Banns 1899-1953

Non Conformist Churches

Presbyterian

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Dethick & Holloway on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,175 times.