Dickenson County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Dickenson County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

United States go to Virginia go to Dickenson County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records


Dickenson County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Dickenson County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Dickenson County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1880
County Seat Clintwood
Courthouse

Contents

Dickenson County Virginia Courthouse

Dickenson County Courthouse
Box 190
Main Street
Clintwood, VA 24228-0190
Phone: 540-926-1616

County Health Department has birth, death, and burial records,
Clerk Circuit court has marriage, divorce, court and land records
from 1880 and military discharge records[1]

Beginning Dates for Dickenson County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1880 1880 1900 1880 1885

Dickenson County Virginia History

Parent County

1880--Dickenson County was created 3 March 1880 from Buchanan, Russell and Wise Counties.
County seat: Clintwood [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Dickenson County Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Resources

Vadickenson.jpg

African American

Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Dickenson County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18905,077
19007,74752.6%
19109,19918.7%
192013,54247.2%
193016,16319.4%
194021,26631.6%
195023,39310.0%
196020,211−13.6%
197016,077−20.5%
198019,80623.2%
199017,620−11.0%
200016,395−7.0%
201015,903−3.0%

1890 Union Veterans

1900

  • Vanover, Gregory Lynn, Joan Short Vanover, and Barbara Kendrick Vanover. Dickenson County, Virginia, 1900 Federal Census. Pound, Virginia: G.L. Vanover, 1984. Available at FHL.

Church Records

Baptist
  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. Sand Lick Primitive Baptist Church, the First Hundred Years, 1837-1937: A History of the Oldest Religious Organization in Dickenson County, Virginia. 1937; reprint, [Clintwood, Virginia?]: Mullins Printing, 1985. Available at FHL.

Court

Genealogy

More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Dickenson County families. For a list, see Dickenson County, Virginia Genealogy.

Land and Property

Local Histories

  • Giles, Albert William. The Geology and Coal Resources of Dickenson County, Virginia. University of Virginia, 1921. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • Schwab, W.G. The Forests of Dickenson County, Virginia. Charlottesville, Va., 1917. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. Meet Virginia's Baby: A Brief Pictorial History of Dickenson County, Virginia, from Its Formation in 1880 to 1955, with Stress on Pioneer Background. Clintwood, Va.: E.J. Sutherland, 1955. 1975 reprint available at FHL.
  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper and Hetty Swindall Sutherland. Pioneer Recollections of Southwest Virginia. Clintwood, Va.: H.S. Sutherland, G.L. Vanover, and J.S. Vanover, 1984. Available at FHL.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Dickenson County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dickenson County, Virginia:

- 2nd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry) (Confederate). Company B.
- 5th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry, Artillery, and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies C and D.[2]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Dickenson County, Virginia newspapers.

Private Papers

Dickenson County, Virginia, Family Bible Records, 1934-1935. Clintwood, Virginia: Mullins Printing, 1999. Available at FHL.

Probate Records

Research Guides

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Dickenson County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1964):124-126. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).

Taxation

Vital Records

Indexes to Dickenson County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

  • Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. E. J. Sutherland Collection, Dickenson County, Virginia, 1650-1965. MSS., available at FHL. [Includes Dickenson County Vital Statistics, 1830-1938.]
Marriage
Vital Record Substitutes

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy Websites

Dickenson County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickenson County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 March 2014, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 25,237 times.