Dihewyd, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dihewid, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngDihewyd

A guide to genealogy in Dihewyd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Dihewyd is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

DIHEWYD, a parish partly in the hundred of TROEDYRAUR and partly in that of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (N. W. by W.) from Lampeter. This parish is situated near the pleasant Vale of Aëron and not far from the river Mydur; the scenery is beautifully diversified, and towards the vale becomes highly picturesque. A fair is held at Llanwyddalys, within its limits, annually on the 9th of May. The church, dedicated to St. Vitalis, was rebuilt within the last five years, and is a neat edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists. On the summit of a lofty hill, called Moel Dihewyd, are the remains of an ancient encampment, of the origin and history of which nothing is known.[1]

For more information on Dihewyd see:

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 304-317. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 696 times.