Dihewyd, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Dihewyd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
DIHEWYD, a parish partly in the hundred of TROEDYRAUR and partly in that of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (N. W. by W.) from Lampeter. This parish is situated near the pleasant Vale of Aëron and not far from the river Mydur; the scenery is beautifully diversified, and towards the vale becomes highly picturesque. A fair is held at Llanwyddalys, within its limits, annually on the 9th of May. The church, dedicated to St. Vitalis, was rebuilt within the last five years, and is a neat edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists. On the summit of a lofty hill, called Moel Dihewyd, are the remains of an ancient encampment, of the origin and history of which nothing is known.
For more information on Dihewyd see:
|before 31 March 1974||Cardiganshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Ceredigion|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
- This page has been accessed 834 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News