Dishley, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dishley, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Dishley, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Dishley, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Loughborough PLU
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DISHLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Thorp-Acre,union of Loughborough, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 1¾ mile (N. W.) from Loughborough.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Dishley and Thorpe Acre Bap 1681 - 1973 Marr 1681 - 1753;1766 - 1990 (Banns to 1991) Bur 1681 - 1967

Note that the later registers relate to Thorpe Acre with Dishley parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438746.


Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-60. Date accessed: 06 September 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 20:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,003 times.