Doddinton, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Doddinton, Cambridgeshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Doddinton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Doddinton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union North Witchford
Registration District North Witchford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DODDINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles (S. by W.) from March, on the road to Chatteris; with the chapelries of Benwick and March, and the hamlet of Wimblington. There are chapels of ease at Benwick and March. In 1847 an act was passed for dividing the parish and rectory into three parishes and rectories. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Parish registers for Doddington, 1681-1876 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Doddington, 1600-1878 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241228.

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Doddington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 63-69. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 January 2016, at 06:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,278 times.