Dodford, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dodford, Northamptonshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Dodford, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dodford, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fawsley
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Daventry PLU
Registration District Daventry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Daventry
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DODFORD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Daventry, hundred of Fawsley, S. division of the county of Northampton, 1½ mile (W. by N.) from Weedon. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dodford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £ [2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £ [2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
DODFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1887 1813-1887
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912
BOYD
1651-1726, 1776-1812

FREG 1581-1922 1581-1838 1581-1955
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1581-1812
1581-1812
1581-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438874.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 63-69. Date Accessed 10 December 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 16:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,560 times.