Donhead St Andrew, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Donhead St Andrew, Wiltshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  WiltshireGotoarrow.png  Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Donhead St Andrew

Guide to Donhead St Andrew, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Donhead St Andrew, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunworth
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Tisbury
Registration District Tisbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1655
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chalke
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

 DONHEAD (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Tisbury, hundred of Dunworth, Hindon and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 4 miles (E. N. E.). The parish is situated on the river Don.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Donhead St Andrew, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Donhead St Andrew, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1610-1837
NIM 1610-1837
1622-1837
1610-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464195.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 63-69 Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 3,383 times.