Donisthorpe, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Donisthorpe, Derbyshire)
Donisthorpe St John

Contents

Parish History

Donisthorpe was township mostly in Church Gresley, Derbyshire but partly in Measham, Derbyshire and in Seale, Derbyshire parishes. It Became a district Chapelry in 1838 with the addition of the townships of Oakthorpe and Ashby Woulds previously within Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire

The parish transferred to Leicestershire in 1897 and is now part of the Diocese of Leicester.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Donisthorpe, Derbyshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[1]
Donisthorpe, Derbyshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1838-1856, 1864

1838-1856, 1864

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The district chapelry of St John is now a parish in the Diocese of Leicester.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 927 times.