Donley County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Donley County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Donley County Courthouse
300 S Sally
Clarendon, TX 79226
County Clerk has birth records from 1877,
marriage and land recordsfrom 1882,
death records from 1903, probate records from
1923 and military discharge records from 1919
The current Donley County courthouse, a Romanesque Revival design building, was opened in November 1891. The courthouse was restored in 2003. It is the oldest functioning courthouse in the Texas Panhandle and is a recorded Texas Historic Landmark. 
Donley County Courthouse
300 S. Sully
Clarendon, TX 79226
County Clerk - Fay Vargas
PO Drawer U
Clarendon, TX 79226
FAX (806) 874-3351
Donley County Government website
Originally named Wegefarth County and organized in 1882, the county was renamed Donley.
Clarendon | Hedley | Howardwick | Lelia Lake
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Citizen's Cemetery - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Donley County Cemeteries - TXGenWeb
- Cemeteries of Donley County - USGenWeb Archives Project
- FindAGrave - transcriptions and photographs
- Donley County Cemeteries - Interment.net
- Donley County Cemeteries maps, transcriptions and information
- 1880 Federal Census - images - USGenWeb Archives Project
Calvary Baptist Church 806-874-3156
Highway 287, Clarendon TX 79226
First Baptist Church 806-874-3833
300 South Bugbee, Clarendon TX 79226
First Baptist Church 806-874-3326
222 Sherwood Blvd, Clarendon TX 79226
First Baptist Church 806-856-5370
Main Street, Hedley TX 79237
First Christian Church 806-874-3212
120 East 3rd, Clarendon TX 79226
Church Of Christ
Church of Christ 806-874-2495
300 South Carhart, Clarendon, TX y79226
First United Methodist Church 806-874-3367
420 South Jefferson, Clarendon TX 79226
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Local histories are available for Donley County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Donley County: Land O' Promise, 1975, by Virginia Browder.
- Donley County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Texas Counties Map.TXGenWeb site.
- 1908 Camp San Lantham United American Veterans - USGenWeb Archives
- Confederate Pension Applications - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Donley County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) - FamilySearch
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) Hidden Ancestors
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- USGenWeb project - May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project - transcriptions and photographs
- TXGenWeb Donley County
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Donley County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ HistoricTexas.net: Donley County http://www3.historictexas.net/donley-county-texas
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Donley County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcd10
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 20:05.
- This page has been accessed 13,423 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More