Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Dorset ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
England on the English Channel coast.
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Dorset.
Prior to 1889 Dorset was divided into hundreds, liberties and boroughs. See Dorset Civil Divisions.
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Dorset was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. GENUKI have produced a list civil registration districts in Dorset and the parishes covered by each.
Read more about England Civil Registration.
See a list of the parishes of Dorset with links to articles.
Dorset Online Parish Clerks: Transriptions from original data available at the Dorset History Centre.
Before 1858, every town and parish in Dorset was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Dorset towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Dorset Probate Records.
- Dorset Resources and help pages on RootsChat Dorset Resources and help pages. (Free).
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Dorsetshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Dorset
|Somerset||Somerset , Wiltshire||Wiltshire|
|English Channel||English Channel|| Isle of Wight|
- This page was last modified on 11 November 2015, at 15:49.
- This page has been accessed 10,863 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News