Doveridge, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Doveridge, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Doveridge St Cuthbert Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Uttoxeter PLU|
|Parish registers: 1574|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
DOVERIDGE (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 1¾ mile (E. by N.) from Uttoxeter. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Doveridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Doveridge Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1575-1893
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1197 has deposited registers Bap 1574-1603, 1608-1996 Mar 1574-1603,1608-1647,1659-2003 Burials 1574-1603,1608-1993 Banns 1754-1812, 1913-2003
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1868 Mar 1662-1838 Burials 1662-1869 Missing Bap& Bur 1838-1866
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Doveridge on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 13:17.
- This page has been accessed 1,772 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News